Past and Present: Two Songs By Modest Mouse

As I was cleaning my cabin, preparing for the arrival of my son and his girlfriend, I listened to Modest Mouse’s Making Nothing Out of Something.  There are two songs on that disk that fit superbly into  my current introspective mood.  First is Medication, the lyrics are written out below the video if you would like to read a long.

This song reminds me of how I was for the majority of my adult life.  Broken up into one hundred different compartments in order to survive each instance of existence with no real self, no drive, little happiness.  All that was inside of me was dull boredom and blankness. Is it any wonder I needed to escape?

Next on the disk is a song that fits where I am now.  It is Working On Leaving The Living.

A year ago I made the choice to let go of 20+ years of emptiness.   Now, as I walk out my door in the morning and stand in the sun with the trees all around me, I truly feel that I have died and moved to heaven, as imperfect as this heaven is.  Each day I am working on leaving the living; the living consisting of that which is considered the social “norm”.  Each day I am working on driving my dreams.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Annabelle
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 21:57:48

    Okay. Our daughter Celia turned us onto this particular cd a few years back. Right off the bat… my favorite song was “Never Ending Math Equation”, followed by “All Night Diner”. However, since your first post about Modest Mouse, I’ve listened more intently to that cd, along with all of their other music. Certainly…”Medication” is a song I can relate to. And “Working On Leavin’ The Livin'” makes its mark. I love music! Reading is wonderful. Movies are entertaining. But for me, nothing speaks more clearly to my deepest self than a message via music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

